For any other questions please call or text
or email us at

For any other questions please call or text to (530)386-6168
or email us at

Delivery Basics

Delivery Basics

Prices listed are minimum order amounts
We operate on a first come first served basis. If there are multiple orders going to the same area, we will group them together as best we can. Delivery times are heavily dependent on weather and traffic, however we strive to get to you as soon as possible and keep you updated from the time your order is placed to when it is delivered.



* charges a 2.5% transaction fee when using their payment service.

**There is a 3.5% transaction fee when using a debit card and a 7% transaction fee when using a credit card.


Truckee – $60

Kings Beach, Lahonton, Martis Camp, Schaffer’s Mill, Tahoe City, & Resorts (Palisades/Alpine, Northstar) – $80

Donner Summit, Boreal, SugarBowl, & Talmont – $125

Fireside, Kingvale, & Sunnyside – $150

Homewood, Sierraville, & Tahoma – $200

Loyalton, Meyers, & South Lake Tahoe – $300

Yes, at this time, all cannabis dispensaries in Truckee/North Lake Tahoe are DELIVERY ONLY.

Daily Cannabis Purchase Limits:

Flowers/Pre-rolls : 1oz (28.5g)

Edibles, Topicals, Concentrates : 8g (8,000mg)


Flowers/Pre-rolls : 8oz (228g)

Edibles, Topicals, Concentrates : 8oz (228,000mg)

Medical Card

Medical Card

Adults 18-20 are required to have a valid California Medical Recommendation to purchase any cannabis products in the State of California.

Medical cannabis patients are authorized to purchase and possess larger quantities of cannabis products in California in accordance to state law. Additionally, patients who also possess a Medical Marijuana Identification Card are not required to pay the local sales and use tax on cannabis products.

The MMIC identifies the cardholder as a person protected under the provisions of Prop 215 and SB 420. It is used to help law enforcement identify the cardholder as being able to legally possess certain amounts of medicine.

Medical patients who have a state medical marijuana ID card will be exempt from the state sales tax immediately. If you spend more than $100 per month on medicine, it should pay you to get a state ID card. Under Prop 64, the card fees are capped at $100, and $50 for Medi-Cal patients.

Qualified patients or caregivers will need to fill out an application form at their county office and provide the following documentation:

• A copy of your doctor’s recommendation

• Proof of identity

• Proof of residency

• Photo taken at county office which will appear on your MMIC

• Application fee

You must apply in person at your county’s Health and Human Services(HHS) office.



We do not accept returns or exchanges. If you received a faulty product, please let us know directly at 530-386-6168. All sales are final.

No. Shipping cannabis products is illegal.

YES! We love to offer deals for first timers as well as our loyal base. Keep up with our deals on our Instagram page @TahoeHoneyCompanyCA

Unfortunately, that is against California state cannabis laws. We may only deliver the products to the person who placed the order, unless you are the legal caregiver for a medical patient.

No. Cannabis users and medical cannabis patients are not protected while on federal park land or forest land in California. A California medical recommendation is not a defense in federal court to these charges. Be sure to check where you are, please be safe!

• Keep in a cool and dimly lit area, heat causes leaking

• Store upright; do not lay on side

• Warm your cartridge for the best hit. To warm, use a button battery, such as KingPen Button Battery; hold down for 3-5 seconds at a time.

The safety and wellness of our employees, customers and the community is our top priority. We have implemented strict safety and sanitation measures for the wellness of you and our staff. Cash when received is disinfected and quarantined for a period of time. They further sanitize areas of contact after each delivery. We are happy to provide contact-less delivery upon request, just let us know! Employees not feeling well are told to stay home and we ask similarly from our guests – if you have a fever, cough or any other symptoms of COVID-19 please hold off on placing a delivery or place a contact-less delivery. Thank you so much for all of your understanding and patience during these new and trying times.